a baking catch-up

October 30, 2012 § 7 Comments

I missed both of October’s bake days for the Tuesdays with Dorie group baking its way through Greenspan’s Baking with Julia.  It’s not that I haven’t been baking, really I have! In fact, dozens of loaves in my Paonia baker, farmer and friend’s wood-fired oven. I wish I had one! That oven absolutely bakes the best bread I’ve ever had, pizza too! Hana agrees!

Baguettes are proofed on couche (the floured cloth). My favorite bake this day was the oversized sour dough white and whole wheat loaves.

We had pizza for lunch with chickpea socca (in the cast iron pan) for the gluten-free bakers. Even Hana got a personal-sized oatmeal loaf!

And although I didn’t get them done on the TWD schedule, here’s my not quick Cranberry Walnut Pumpkin Loaves and Bagels. They were both fun to make and turned out pretty well. I get the feeling the pumpkin bread will make another appearance on Thanksgiving when my kids join us. And bagels are one of my favorite breads. I made some tweaks to the recipe because I think bagels need to be dense and chewy and never have enough sesame seeds. These were easy enough to make with the overnight rise, shaping chilled dough and immediately boiling and baking, so I hope to bake and not buy bagels from now on.

For the pumpkin bread start by roasting a pie pumpkin. I used a variety called Winter Luxury and got enough punkin’ purée for bread and a pie down the road.

I melted the butter to combine it with the pumpkin and sugar, rather than creaming it. Here’s the finished dough.

Instead of making three little pan loaves, I rolled out three strands of dough to braid. Here’s the braid before and after proofing.

The egg wash gives the bread a very dark crust. This particular pumpkin wasn’t very sweet, so next time I’ll be sure to adjust the sugar. Pretty slices though!

Onto the bagels. I substituted a 1/2 cup of rye and 1 cup of whole wheat for some of the all purpose flour, and added a little vital wheat gluten for some extra chew. I left out the shortening in the recipe as well. After an overnight rise in the refrigerator bagels were shaped from the still chilly dough and almost immediately went for a swim in the hot tub.

A brief drain on a rack, then the still wet and now poofy bagel gets lots of seeds on BOTH sides (I like sesame seeds).

Onto the sheet pan, into a hot oven for about a half hour. I barely let them cool.

Yum! Warm seedy buttery jammy homemade bagel. Wow!

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 7 Responses to a baking catch-up

  • Linda Gowan says:

    Bread!!! My favorite food. Especially those loaves. Marvelous!

  • Cher says:

    Major outdoor oven envy :-) Love outdoor ovens. They do make the best breads.
    And of course, your bagels and bread look perfect too.

  • oven chaos says:

    I love bread that has been baked in a wood-fired oven. All the bread extravaganza looks amazing!

  • SandraM says:

    Oh my….an outdoor oven. That is crazy cool. Must be so much fun baking in it.
    Your pumpkin bread looks great in a braid. (good idea) And your bagels look yummy. I definitely need to try both recipes.

  • Love that wood fired oven. My grandmother used to make all the family’s bread in one. Truly miss that. Everything you made looks absolutely delicious. Wow!

  • Andrea says:

    Marilyn, I cannot get over all the utterly delicious looking goodies that you baked! The Bagels look just terrific and now that I have read your post, I will be baking the Pumpkin Loaf again, but I will be following your advice and braid the dough, it looks so wonderful and I believe this would be a perfect hostess gift too. The Pizza and the Sourdough Breads and the Baguettes are so perfect looking and the outdoor oven…I can only say, I am seriously jealous! What a fantastic post!

    Have a good weekend!

  • Megan MacMillan says:

    Nice post!!

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading a baking catch-up at cook reach grow.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

