not a straight line

April 26, 2012 § 4 Comments

Russian Hawthorne

I’m trying to learn more patience with setbacks. It’s been more than a couple of months since my last chemo treatment and I had thought I’d be in SoCal this month catching up on family time with my parents and sisters. Instead I spent three weeks with a drain in my pelvis ending with a couple of infections, thankfully slight since my immune system is pretty strong again. When one has a hysterectomy due to malignancy, the surgeon removes a lot of lymph nodes to see if the cancer has spread to them (I had none :)). But this causes a lot of trauma to the lymph system, and I ended up with a softball-sized encapsulation of lymph fluid called a lymphocele. Needless to say, it was a bit uncomfortable and I needed to grin-and-bear-it until I completed chemotherapy because of the risk of infection from the drainage procedure. That’s done now, and my medical port (which delivered the chemo drugs and IV’s) was also removed last week. I’m thankful I had a good IR (Interventional Radiology) Team who did the work and closed that chapter with me.

We’ve had an unusual warm early Spring, but the typical April weather setback after bringing out the shade umbrella

I also had my first 3 month followup with my gynecologist. “So, Dr. L, what are we looking for since all of my parts that you’d be interested in are gone?” I’m a big fan of Dr. L of Kaiser. Until my encounter with Cancer, I didn’t even have a GYN doctor. For me, he’s been the right mix of concerned competency and confidence, an active listener and advocate in my case. I’ll have 3 months checks with him for two years, interspersed with occasional radiological studies. I’ll see my oncologist Dr. H a few times as well. Things are good.

My ears aren’t bigger, my hair’s just shorter

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to not a straight line

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading not a straight line at cook reach grow.

meta

