where France meets Spain

September 21, 2012 § 11 Comments

I’ve always been a little confused whether the Basque region is part of Spain or France. Turns out it’s part of both. Called the Basque country, it straddles the northern Pyrenees mountain range and borders the Atlantic ocean. Here’s a map courtesy of Wikipedia.

File:Euskal Herria Europa.png

The FFwD group made chicken basquaise this week. When you see ‘aise’ appended to a country’s name, that simply means “in the style of” in French. Basquaise implies peppers and tomatoes and lots of them, so it’s a perfect late summer dish to use our locally grown vegetables which are in abundance and great variety right now.

Here are the ingredients to make the pipérade which is the aromatic base for this stew – three kinds of peppers (green, I used my favorite Jimmy Nardello’s for the sweet red, and chiles for some spice), onion, garlic, thyme, oregano, bay leaf, dried Espelette pepper from the region and tomatoes. I used the juice from a zested orange since I had it.

Dorie Greenspan, the author of Around my French Table, gives very precise instructions to thinly slice the onion crosswise. When onion doesn’t need to be chopped or diced in small pieces, I tend to use a cut the French call émincée. Peel the onion, cut it in half lengthwise and then remove the core by cutting out a small wedge from the bottom of each half. Then slice thinly also lengthwise following the hemisphere shape of the onion so that each slice is a thin wedge. I like this shape, and the thin pieces cook quickly and evenly. Start sweating the onions in a little olive oil while you prep the rest of the vegetables.

The different peppers are sliced, along with the chile. I tasted the chile and it was hot enough that I decided to only add one, not the three the recipe called for. The peppers go in with the onion to also sweat, then the tomatoes, herbs and spices are added and the mixture simmered for about a half hour to meld their flavors. The chicken is separately browned and then combined with some of the pipérade and braised long enough to become tender 45 minutes or longer, depending on your chicken.

To me chicken basquaise served over rice is a colorful version of the more familiar Latin or Cuban arroz con pollo.

I made a second FFwD recipe with the breast meat and carcass from the whole chicken I got from Cure Farm for the basquaise recipe. Spicy Vietnamese Chicken Noodle Soup (Oct. 2010) was a fantastic flavorful and exotic version of a chicken soup.

I modified the recipe to use the aromatics to make a quick Asian influenced chicken broth with just 20 minutes of pressure cooking. Do you end up with what my friend Marcia calls “ginger turds” in your vegetable drawer (the leftover pieces you don’t use and they dry out or spoil)? I finally learned to peel all the ginger and then freeze whatever was left in small pieces. These thaw out quickly and are firm enough to slice, chop or mince for future dishes, instead of going to waste.

I made the curry variation of this soup. A key technique to enhancing the flavor of many spices is to cook them first (dry toast or in oil) before adding the rest of the ingredients. It’s absolutely critical to not burn them of course, you are just heating them enough to bring out their flavors. Instead of using bean sprouts for garnish, I used some fresh raw corn and tiny currant tomatoes, along with mint, cilantro and lime wedges. Oh, and since I had rice leftover from basquaise night, I used it instead of rice noodles. Now that it’s starting to cool down it will be fun and tasty to make this soup again and vary the seasonal garnishes.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 11 Responses to where France meets Spain

  • The ginger tip is priceless, I never thought it froze well. Your recipes look gorgeous Marilyn! Though the chicken is a common thing here, that soup sounds amazing. I so want to keep on exploring asian flavors of which I know practically nothing. Have a great weekend!

  • loavesandstitches says:

    Yum! The soup looks wonderful. I am going to have to try that one soon! Your chicken turned out beautifully as well.

  • Thanks for the tips on freezing ginger! I love to keep ginger at the house because they are so versatile but always end up throwing out the dried out pieces. The hot peppers this year are HOT! Must be all the sun. Your addition of orange juice sounds intriguing. Did you use it to deglaze the pan in lieu of white wine?

  • Teresa says:

    I also freeze ginger – it’s a shame to waste it. I like the way you made the most of your chicken by making the soup – it’s such a good recipe, too.

  • Cher says:

    I picked up two new words today: émincée and ginger turds.
    The Vietnamese soup (or the faux pho) is one that I have yet to catch up on.
    Beautifully done!

  • Marilyn, you always leave me a bit breathless – in a very good way – whenever I read your posts, I realize how little I really know and it is such a joy reading through all your pieces of advice, I am learning and I love it! I will have to attempt to make the soup you mentioned, I have never made it before but the family and I really enjoy Asian flavors and we will love this soup, I am sure. I always freeze the carcass when I cut up some chicken so that will be a good starting point for me this week!

    Thanks for all the wonderful advice – I am already looking forward to your next post!

    Have a great weekend!

  • betsy says:

    What a gorgeous pile of vegetables for this dish, Marilyn. Delicious! I didn’t know you freeze the ginger chunks. I usually peel and store in a jar of sherry in the fridge, but freezing is much easier. Have a great weekend.

  • Alice says:

    love your variation! great job!

  • mireia says:

    What an interesting post!!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading where France meets Spain at cook reach grow.

meta

